default zone in sharepoint

zones in sharepoint

This post describes about what are zones in sharepoint. how many default zones are available. Zones are different logical paths expressed as URLs that allow access to the same web application. The default zone in sharepoint is 5. A web application can support up to five Default Zones. The available zone names are Default, Extranet, Intranet, Internet, and Custom.